Friday, July 18, 2008

Types of Conjunctivitis

Conjunctivitis refers to a specific type of eye infection that occurs in the conjunctiva, located at the outermost part of the eye. This disease is also referred to as ‘pink eye problem’. There are essentially three types of conjunctivitis – (1) viral, (2) bacterial and (3) allergic. In this article, you will get an overview of each of these three types. Here we go –

Viral Conjunctivitis

Viral conjunctivitis can be occurred in any or both eyes. Quite obviously, as its name implies, viral conjunctivitis is developed as a result of virus intervention. These viruses also affect the upper respiratory tract, and may cause sore throat or cold symptoms. People infected by these viruses may experience a continuous mucous or watery discharge from their eyes. This problem is extremely contagious by nature.

Bacterial Conjunctivitis

Primarily bacteria like streptococcus or staphylococcus is responsible for the development of bacterial conjunctivitis. It results in sticky, yellowish green discharge from their eyes. In addition, the patients also suffer from cold symptoms or sore throat due to this type of bacterial infection. It has been frequently reported that the victims suddenly develops the symptoms of bacterial conjunctivitis, even without any prior symptoms.

Allergic Conjunctivitis

As its name suggests, allergic conjunctivitis is caused as a result of a wide array of allergens such as pollens. When someone suffers from allergic conjunctivitis, he or she may experience a persistent discomfort in their eyes including acute burning, itching, paining and tearing from the eyes. Most commonly, the additional symptoms may include watery discharge from their eyes, recurrent sneezing and swelling sensation.